About the NHS in Wales

Hospital staff

The Welsh Government sets the strategic framework and formulates the health and social care policy which is to be implemented by NHS Wales and its partners when planning and delivering services for the people of Wales.

The NHS in Wales underwent major organisational change in 2009 to equip it to deliver better healthcare to the 3 million people who live in Wales.

The reorganisation came into effect on 1st October 2009, and has created single local health organisations that are responsible for delivering all healthcare services within a geographical area, rather than the “internal market” that existed previously.

The NHS now delivers services through seven integrated Health Boards and three NHS Trusts.

Health Boards

The seven Heath Boards in Wales are responsible for the full range of healthcare services in their area; primary, secondary, community and mental health.  There is no purchaser-provider split in Wales. Health Boards plan, secure and deliver healthcare services, replacing the 22 LHBs and the seven NHS Trusts who performed these functions separately in the past.

More information


Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Confederation

  • Access exclusive resources 
    Access member-only resources and tailor member benefits and services
  • Personalise your website
    Select topics of interest for recommended content
  • Comment and recommend
    Rate and share content with colleagues
  • Never miss a thing
    Register now to keep your finger on the pulse of the NHS Confederation

Log In