Healthcare workforce recognised in New Year's Honours

NHS sign

The outstanding service of clinical, managerial and voluntary staff within 22 NHS Confederation member organisations has been recognised in the 2018 New Year’s Honours. 

The list includes damehoods for University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay’s chief executive, Jackie Daniel, and Sheffield Teaching Hospital’s chief nurse, Professor Hilary Chapman; an OBE for Bolton NHS Foundation Trust’s chief executive, Dr Jacqueline Bene; and a CBE for Welsh Ambulance Service chair, Michael Giannasi.

The 2018 list also awards a damehood to Angela Pedder, former chief executive of the Devon Success Regime and sustainability and transformation partnership. 

Health sector recipients make up 10 per cent of all honours, up three per cent on last year.

The achievements of individuals from the national NHS, as well as local government, social care and the voluntary sector also feature in the 2018 list, with CBEs for Ray James, former president of the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services, Andrea Sutcliffe, chief inspector of adult social care at the Care Quality Commission, and Hilary Garratt, NHS England’s director of nursing.

Many congratulations to all of the Confed members recognised in the 2018 honours.

Barking, Havering, and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust
 Wendy Matthews, director of midwifery and deputy chief nurse, for services to midwifery.

Bolton NHS Foundation Trust
 Dr Jacqueline Bene, chief executive, for services to healthcare.

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust
 Professor Christopher Liu, consultant ophthalmic surgeon, for services to ophthalmology.

Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
 Dr Rohit Shankar, consultant in adult developmental psychiatry, for services to people with learning disabilities in Cornwall.

Cwm Taf University Health Board
 Ellen Mann, nurse, for services to children and young people.

East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust
Queen's Ambulance Service Medal:
 Kuldip Bhamrah, technician, for distinguished service.

Gloucestershire Care Services NHS Trust
 Gayle Clay, team manager of the homeless healthcare team, for services to community health for homeless and vulnerable people.

Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
 Professor Andrew Shennan, consultant obstetrician, for services to maternity care.

Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Tim Melville-Ross, trust chair and chairman of the Higher Education Council for England, for services to higher education.

Hillingdon Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
BEM: Margaret Sutton, chair of the Mount Vernon Hospital Comforts Fund, for services to the NHS.

Hywel Dda University Health Board
Rowena Jones, paediatric oncology outreach specialist nurse, for services to sick and disabled children and end-of-life care. 

London North West Hospital NHS Trust
 Professor Lynne Turner-Stokes, consultant in rehabilitation medicine and professor of rehabilitation, at the University of London for services to rehabilitation medicine.

Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Clive Meux, consultant forensic psychiatrist, for services to people with mental ill health.

Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
 Dr Joanna Walker, consultant paediatrician, for services to children, young people and families in Hampshire and West Sussex.

Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust
 Professor Tim Briggs, consultant orthopaedic surgeon, for services to the surgical profession. 

Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
 Professor Philippa Tyrrell, professor and consultant in stroke medicine, for services to stroke medicine and care.

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
: Professor Hilary Chapman CBE, chief nurse, for services to nursing.

Shropshire Community Health NHS Trust
 Judith Haycocks, healthcare assistant, for services to care of older people.

University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust
 Jackie Daniel, chief executive, for services to healthcare. 

Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust
 Michael Giannasi QPM, chair, for services to the NHS.
Queen's Ambulance Service Medal: Kath Charters, clinical data specialist, for distinguished service.
Queen's Ambulance Service Medal: David John, advanced paramedic practitioner, for distinguished service.

West Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust
Queen's Ambulance Service Medal
: Diane Scott, deputy chief executive officer, for distinguished service.

Western Health and Social Care Trust, Northern Ireland.
 Elizabeth Deans, for voluntary service.

Access the full list from the Cabinet Office website.

Latest Tweets

Latest Blog Post

A new Davos for health? International lessons from this year’s WISH conference | Layla McCay

12 / 12 / 2018 10.35am

As a forum for world healthcare leaders, Layla McCay, director of international relations at the NHS Confederation, found WISH in Qatar to be more than just a conference.

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Confederation

  • Access exclusive resources 
    Access member-only resources and tailor member benefits and services
  • Personalise your website
    Select topics of interest for recommended content
  • Comment and recommend
    Rate and share content with colleagues
  • Never miss a thing
    Register now to keep your finger on the pulse of the NHS Confederation

Log In

To book events and access member only content you need to register with us.  This only takes a moment via our registration page. If you have already registered login using your email address and password below.